Friday, February 13, 2015

My Fifty Shades of . . . No

Things in life are never just black or white; sometimes they are grey. Because I am a firm believer of judging things on my own, I bought the Fifty Shades trilogy last year and set out to see what made it so successful.  From all the raves, maybe it had some redeeming qualities that would moot all the controversy
I saw nothing spectacular about Book I.  The writing was weak and eager to please. The characters were boring and uninteresting, but then – Bam! – I got to page 97.  In a matter of seconds, Ms. James took me from a maudlin PG-13 story into a Rated X anatomy lesson. I kept expecting one or both of the characters to show less skin and more character, any character at all, but I winced my way to the end of the book without much hope. 
Since there were two more books in the set, it was obvious Ana’s resolve at the end of Book I wasn’t going to hold, so I picked up Book II and made it as far as Chapter One before I had enough.  I even cheated and read the last chapter in Book III before I pitched “the set” into my trash pile.
Things are never just black or white; they are sometimes grey, but this is one of those times where I need to take a stand.  I need to choose a side.  If you don’t stand for something, you can easily be swayed into believing and doing anything popular that comes along.
I did not like Fifty Shades because it did not edify the type of person I struggle everyday to become.  It had a lot of graphic sex but lacked all of the following fifty characteristics that I hold dear, and for that reason I am saddened that the Fifty Shades books are so popular. What does it say of our culture?
I like my books with a good dose of the following:
           1.    Respect  2. Honor 3.  Kindness.  4.  Affection   5.  Regard  6.  Trust 
7.  Devotion 8. Fidelity 9.  Dignity 10. Decency 11.  Integrity 12.  Gallantry
13. Unselfishness 14.  Consideration 15.  Companionship 16.  Compassion 
17.  Morals   18.  Mores 19.  Ethics  20.  Self-assuredness 21.  Thoughtfulness
22.  Refinement   23.  Tenderness 24.  Charity 25.  Nobility 26.  Commitment
27.  Self-worth 28. Empathy 29.  Honesty 30.  Courtesy 31. Family 
32.  Character 33.  Intimacy 34.  Classiness 35.  Choice 36.  Courage 
37.  Goodness 38.  Compromise 39.  Grace 40.  Sanctity 41. Sincerity
42.  Culture/manners 43.  Faith/beliefs 44. Happiness 45.  Beloved-ness
46. Esteem 47. Appreciation 48.  Devotion 49. Harmony 
50.  One’s Good name/reputation  

No comments:

Post a Comment